CFDA Fashion Awards 2012 will be digitally broadcast on

May 31, 2012
By Sheryl Blasnik


CFDA Fashion Awards

For the first time ever the CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) will digitally broadcast the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards.

The CFDA Fashion Awards will take place at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center on June 4th and will celebrate the best of American fashion. This year marks the 50th anniversary of the CFDA.

The digital broadcast will air on Tuesday, June 5th at 5:00PM EST (The broadcast has been delayed but red carpet highlights are posted) on’s homepage as well as on a CFDA-dedicated section of the site. The show will feature the awards ceremony from red carpet highlights and interviews through the final bow of the night.’s Tim Blanks will serve as the red carpet host speaking with some of the most influential names in fashion, entertainment, sports, and music. In addition to acceptance speeches and short films, this year’s Awards will include several special live moments paying tribute to the CFDA’s legacy.

Leading up to the first-ever digital broadcast, launched a CFDA-dedicated section on May 24th that includes rarely seen images from the CFDA archives and other information chronicling past CFDA Awards. As the Awards draw closer, will begin posting Q&A’s with some of this year’s honorees as well as other exclusive material. On the night of the Awards, viewers can stay in touch with the live event through’s Editors’ Diary, where editors will be using Instagram and Tumblr to feed live moments to fans. Also during the live event, a Twitter portal featuring the conversation about this year’s Awards will be available on’s CFDA-dedicated section. To join in, viewers can use the hashtag #CFDAAwards.’s coverage of the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards will also include photo slideshows, such as Tommy Ton’s shots of the night, launching on June 5th. Then, later in the week,’s CFDA-dedicated section will host video clips from the awards ceremony including individual acceptance speeches, red carpet highlights with bonus moments not shown in the digital broadcast, short films, onstage moments, and more.

Steven Kolb, CEO of the CFDA said, “We are thrilled to be able to share American fashion’s biggest night with the public for the first time and to be working with on this incredible project. This is an amazing opportunity to expand our audience as we open this exclusive industry event to fashion lovers around the world. It is not to be missed. Tune in and watch as we celebrate this year’s winners.”

Here is a list of the nominees:

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs.

The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Billy Reid, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr.

For Accessory Designer of the Year Award the nominees are: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff.

Chris Peters & Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind, Joseph Altuzarra, and Max Osterweis & Erin Beatty for Suno have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Antonio Azzuolo, Phillip Lim, and Todd Snyder. For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Irene Neuwirth, Pamela Love, and Tabitha Simmons.

The honorary awards go to a diverse group of people. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Tommy Hilfiger.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Scott Schuman & Garance Doré.

The Fashion Icon Award will given to Johnny Depp, the first male recipient to receive the award, for his personal and eclectic sense of style.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Andrew Rosen.

The International Award will go to Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garçons for making an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.

For more information visit

Photo: CFDA

Sheryl Blasnik


Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.