CFDA Fashion Award 2012 winners announced

June 4, 2012
By Sheryl Blasnik

CFDA Fashion Awards

On Monday, June 4th the CFDA Fashion Awards were held at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center. The awards celebrate the best of American fashion. This year marks the 50th anniversary of the CFDA.  Seth Meyers was the awards host for the evening.

All the nominees were chosen based upon their outstanding creative contributions to the world of fashion

This year’s awards were particularly special,” said CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg. “We honored the best talent working in American fashion today and celebrated CFDA’s 50th Anniversary and the impact of our family of designers.”


Womenswear Designer of the Year Award went to Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for their label The Row.

The Menswear Designer of the Year winner is Billy Reid.

Accessory Designer of the Year Award for 2012 went to Reed Krakoff.

Joseph Altuzarra won the coveted Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The Swarovski Award for Menswear winner was Phillip Lim and the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design went to Tabitha Simmons.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tommy Hilfiger by Vogue’s Anna Wintour who said “I admire him as much for who he is as what he has done.”

The Sartorialist Scott Schuman & Garance Doré were honored with the The Media Award given to them by Pharrell Williams.

The Fashion Icon Award was bestowed upon actor Johnny Depp, the first male recipient to receive the award, who was not in attendance to accept the award.  John Waters accepted on his behalf.

The Founders Award was presented to Andrew Rosen by Kenneth Cole and The International Award winner was Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garçons.

VIP Guests included some of the most well known names in the fashion and social worlds: CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg, CFDA CEO Steven Kolb, Alexander Wang, Antonio Azzuolo, Arizona Muse, Ashley Olsen, Betsey Johnson, Billy Reid, Brian Atwood, Brad Goreski, Candice Swanepoel, Carine Roitfeld, Carolina Herrera, Catherine Malandrino, Chris Peters, Crystal Renn, Cynthia Rowley, David Neville, David Yurman, Deborah Lloyd, Derek Lam, Donna Karan, Doo-Ri Chung, Dree Hemingway, Eddie Borgo, Elettra Wiedemann, Erin Beatty, Erin Wasson, Francisco Costa, Gilles Mendel, Grace Coddington, Gregory Parkinson, Harley Viera-Newton, Hilary Rhoda, Irene Neuwirth, Italo Zucchelli, Jack McCollough, Jacquelyn Jablonski, Jason Wu, Jenna Lyons, Jessica Stam, Jill Stuart, Joan Smalls, Johan Lindeberg, John Bartlett, John Varvatos, John Whitledge, Johnson Hartig, Jonathan Adler, Joseph Altuzarra, Karen Elson, Kenneth Cole, Keren Craig, Kevin Carrigan, Lana Marks,Lazaro Hernandez, Lela Rose, Liu Wen, Lubov Azria, Marc Jacobs, Marcia Patmos, Marcus Wainwright, Maria Cornejo, Mary-Kate Olsen, Max Osterweis, Michael Kors, Monique Lhuillier, Monique Péan, Nadja Swarovski, Naeem Khan, Nicole Miller, Olivier Theyskens, Pamela Love, Patrik Ervell, Peter Som, Philip Crangi, Phillip Lim, Prabal Gurung, Rachel Roy, Rachel Zoe, Reed Krakoff, Robert Lee Morris, Shane Gabier, Simon Doonan, Simon Spurr, Sophie Théallet, Stacy Bendet-Eisner, Stan Herman, Steven Alan, Stuart Weitzman, Tabitha Simmons, Thom Browne, Tina Lutz, Todd Snyder, Tory Burch, Tracy Reese, Victoria Bartlett, Vivienne Tam, Yeohlee Teng, Yigal Azrouël, and Zac Posen.

For more information about the Fashion Awards and to explore the look books of all the nominees visit

Congratulations to all the nominees and to the winners.  The CFDA Fashion Awards ceremony will be digitally broadcast tomorrow, June 5th at 5pm EDT on Be sure to tune in to see all the red carpet highlights.

RELATED ARTICLE:  CFDA Fashion Awards 2012 will be digitally broadcast on

Sheryl Blasnik


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.