The 2012 Style Awards: Honorees, Presenters and the fashion

September 17, 2012
By Sheryl Blasnik

The 2012 Style Awards Celebrated Its New York Debut at off Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week On Wednesday, September 5.

2012 Style Awards

In an unprecedented partnership between leading brands in style, media and events, Penske Media Corporation (PMC), Style Media and IMG Fashion presented the 9th Annual Style Awards on September 5, 2012, kicking off the world’s most prestigious fashion event, Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week. The Style Awards made their broadcast debut on The Style Network on Friday, September 14th.  Fashion fans got a look into the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week experience.

Talents behind the world’s most exciting film and TV fashions came together at The 2012 Style Awards, to celebrate and recognize the artistic accomplishments of the community’s top costume designers, stylists, models, photographers, makeup artists, hair stylists and more. Model Iman was the host.

We are tremendously excited to bring the Style Awards to The Style Network viewers and to Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week for the first time,” said Stephanie Winston Wolkoff, the Executive Producer of the Show.

Celebrities and members of the fashion community in attendence included: Iman, Katharine McPhee, Rachel Roy, Carolina Herrera, Brian Atwood, Ivanka Trump, Prabal Gurung, Reed Krakoff, Jeff Gordon, John Demsey, Alexandra Kotur, Robert Verdi, Joe Zee, Waris Ahluwalia, Stacey Bendet, Derek Blasberg, Henrik Lundqvist, Joan Smalls, Catherine Malandrino, Rebecca Minkoff, Kristina O’Neill, Lisa Perry, David Perry, Reem Acra and Timo Weiland, among others.



  • Actress Amy Adams attends the 9th annual Style Awards wearing a plum Giambattista Valli Spring 2012 Couture sequin dress with a VBH clutch.
  • Nicole Richie arrives at the 9th Annual Style Awards wearing a black cut out dress from Anthony Vaccarello, Costume National shoes, an Edie Parker clutch, Neil Lane jewelry, and House of Harlow 1960 Skull Studs.
  • Designer Carolina Herrera attends the 9th annual Style Awards.
  • Smash Actress Katharine McPhee attends the 9th annual Style Awards wearing a graphic print dress by Peter Pilotto Charlotte Olympia shoes and a R&Y Augousti clutch.
  • Model Iman attends the 9th annual Style Awards in a purple pantsuit by Rachel Zoe.
  • Actor Ed Westwick attends the 9th annual Style Awards in Prada.
  • Hairstylist Andy Lecompte and TV personality Nicole Richie attend the 9th annual Style Awards.
  • Professional ice hockey player Henrik Lundqvist attends the 9th annual Style Awards.
  • Costume designer Jenn Rogien attends the 9th annual Style Awards wearing a lace dress by Designer Chris Benz.
  • Elaine Irwin attends the 9th annual Style Awards.
  • Fashion designer Prabal Gurung attends the 9th annual Style Awards.
  • Fashion designer Reed Krakoff and actress Rachael Taylor dressed in Reed Krakoff cocktail dress attend the 9th annual Style Awards.
  • Model Joan Smalls attends the 9th annual Style Awards wearing a red and black gown designed by Givenchy.
  • Designer Simon Spurr attends the 9th annual Style Awards.

This year’s Honorees were chosen by the Style Awards’ Nominating Committee, comprised of esteemed individuals in the entertainment and fashion communities. The Style Award, created exclusively by iconic crystal brand, Lalique, will be awarded to 2012’s Style Award winners.

This year’s categories, honorees and presenters include:

Designer of the Year” – Carolina Herrera, award presented by Katie Holmes

Breakthrough Designer of the Year” – Prabal Gurung, award presented by Elettra Wiedemann

One to Watch (Female)” – Katharine McPhee, award presented by Joe Zee

One to Watch (Male)” – Ed Westwick, award presented by Simon Spurr

Celebrity Stylist of the Year” – Cristina Ehrlich, award presented by Amy Adams

Model of the Year” – Joan Smalls, award presented by Iman

Hair Stylist of the Year” – Andy Lecompte, award presented by Nicole Richie

Most Stylish Athlete” – Henrik Lundqvist, award presented by Jeff Gordon

TV Costume Designer of the Year” – Jenn Rogien, award presented by Allison Williams

Makeup Artist of the Year” – Virginia Young, award presented by Elaine Irwin

Accessories Designer of the Year” – Reed Krakoff

Film Costume Designer of the Year” – Sandy Powell

The ceremony was followed by the Official Style Awards After-Party held at Stone Rose Lounge at Columbus Circle.

Photos: Getty Images

Sheryl Blasnik


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.